Making a difference while traveling the world

Not those kinds of shots.

I got an email last week from one of the directors of Volunthai, asking if I would mind teaching at a different school – a much smaller one in a more rural area than my original assignment that’s also in more need of English teachers. How could I refuse? It’s still in the Chaiyaphum Province – you can find it in central Thailand on this map below.

It’s called Salanongkon school, in the Bauyai district. There are 200 students from 5 to 15 years old. I hope I get some little ones. ๐Ÿ™‚

So living in a rural area means more vaccinations! Today, I got my second round of the rabies vaccination. But even if I do get bitten, I have to get more shots (and I hear the needle is gigantic!) Luckily, I’ve always been pretty good with shots – even when I was a kid. My mom says I never really cried. And I didn’t today either. ๐Ÿ˜‰ Last week, I also got the vaccination for Japanese Encephalitis (JE) – it’s carried through mosquitoes. With my track record – and since I’m going during the wet season – I need every shot or pill I can get to fight off bug-bite related diseases. So that also means malaria pills – that comes after one more round of rabies and JE vaccinations in a couple of weeks!

Leave a Reply

