Making a difference while traveling the world

Finally on my way!

2.6 hours on the plane down and 13 more to go! I’m hanging out at Vancouver International Airport waiting to board the plane to Hong Kong – the first stop on my multi-destination journey in Asia. I’ll be there for three days before going to Thailand to start my teaching assignment. I can’t believe this day is finally here! Everyone has been asking how excited I am leading up to the trip and it really isn’t sinking in till now. I’ve been so overwhelmed with packing and moving out of my apartment in San Francisco in 3 days after coming back from a week-long destination wedding trip in Mexico, that I haven’t given myself time to envision all the amazing sights and experiences I’m going to have! I know once the plane is descending upon Hong Kong and I catch a glimpse of this other “city by the bay” (hopefully I can see it through the smog), the butterflies (excited and nervous butterflies) will start swirling around in my stomach.

In the meantime, I hope to get a good amount of sleep on this upcoming 13 hour flight. I only got one hour of shut-eye before my parents and I left the house for the airport at 4:00am. As you can see from the photo, I had a hell of a time packing and repacking, trying to figure out how to fit all my clothes for 3 months – professional for teaching, Hong Kong chic and rugged for trekking – plus teaching supplies for the kids, gifts for my host family and all my “just-in-case” meds in one suitcase (yeah, right! I ended up with another very bloated small suitcase and 2 carry-ons). Thank you to my very organized and diligent sister for helping me figure out a way to fit everything.

Time to grab lunch now before boarding the plane…see you in Hong Kong!

Comments on: "Finally on my way!" (2)

  1. Bon Voyage, Jess! Can’t wait to read all your updates on your incredible adventure! Be safe, and have tons of fun!

  2. Good luck and have fun out there Jess!!

Leave a Reply

